Margaret McWilliams Award Program

Nomination deadline: Friday, 15 March 2024

The purpose of the Margaret McWilliams Award, one of the oldest literary prizes in Canada, is to encourage the study and interpretation of the history of Manitoba. It was instituted in 1955 by the Manitoba Historical Society as a memorial to Margaret Stovel McWilliams.

For recipients in 2024, cash awards of $500 (and a certificate) will be made in each of the following categories:

  • Scholarly History Book
  • Popular History Book
  • Local History Book

Other categories may be added at the discretion of the Manitoba Historial Society.

Eligibility criteria

  • Submitted materials must pertain to Manitoba history and be published in the 2023 calendar year.
  • Four (4) copies of each submission must be forwarded with the application form. All submissions become the property of the Manitoba Historical Society and will not be returned.
  • Submissions must be published in English or French, either originally or in translation.
  • Submissions must be more than 50 pages in length.
  • Self-published materials shall be eligible for submission but at least 100 copies must have been published and commercially distributed to the public through well-established channels such as retail stores or an online book-selling website.
  • The decision of the Manitoba Historical Society as to the eligibility of a submission shall be binding.

Please note that the Manitoba Historical Society reserves the right to switch submissions into a different category. Awards will not necessarily be made in every category and multiple awards may be given in the event of a tie.


For more information about the award and its eligibility criteria, please contact the McWilliam Award Coordinator at mcwilliams@mhs.mb.ca or contact the MHS Office.


Member Access Only

An active Digital Membership Subscription or Single Issue purchase is needed to view Prairie History issues. Please login or sign up.